The ACT Awards to revisit SA’s golden era

The Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) will revisit the epicentre of 1940’s and 50’s South African jazz and blues culture at their 19th annual ACT Awards. The ACT Awards, which will be held on 21 October at Sun International’s The Maslow Hotel in Sandton will bestow Lifetime Achievement Awards on six of the country’s arts and culture stalwarts, while also naming five rising stars 2016’s ImpACT Award winners.

awards (more…)

ACT jumpstarts matriculants’ careers in the arts

The Market Theatre was abuzz both on and off the stage last night when performing arts matriculants were granted Scholarships to pursue their dreams. Six triple-threat scholars acted, danced and sang their way through the finals and all walked away with funding from the National Lotteries Commission (NLC), supported by the Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Organisation (DALRO) and the Nedbank Arts Affinity.

Tamzin Williams, Virtuous Kandimiiri & Robin Castle (Photograph: John Hogg)

Tamzin Williams, Virtuous Kandemiiri & Robin Castle
(Photograph: John Hogg)


Cape Town showcase sees four Scholarship winners

Last night, the Baxter Theatre Centre came alive when 12 talented young performing artists gave their all on stage to win an ACT Scholarship. Funded by the National Lotteries Commission (NLC), the 2016 Scholarships Programme will change the lives of these dramatic arts, singing, dance and musical theatre students who clinched Scholarships worth R320,000 in total.

ct-showcase_large (more…)

NLC Performing Arts Scholarships Judges Announced

Tonight, in the first of a series of showcases displaying the best of young talent from across the country, the Performing Arts Scholarships Programme for 1st and 2nd year students kicks off in Cape Town. Over the next two weeks, 24 students will take the stage in Johannesburg and Cape Town competing for performing arts scholarships made possible by the generous support of the National Lotteries Commission.

ACT DALRO Nedbank Performing Arts Scholarship 2010 Winners - Zola Myeza and Hope Maimane. Finalists - Gerhard De Lange,Nicole Fortuin, Rebecca Hartle and Pallance Dladla. Photograph: John Hogg

Scholarships Finalists 2010 (Photograph: John Hogg)


Page 5 of 22« First...456...10...Last »